Trinidad Navarro Delaware Department of Insurance

Commissioner
AUTO BULLETIN NO. 25
TO: ALL INSURERS WRITING AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COVERAGE IN
DELAWARE
RE: Passage of HB 114 — Raising Minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage Limits
DATED: June 28, 2017

REVISED:  July 13,2017

The purpose of Auto Bulletin No. 25 was to inform all insurers writing automobile insurance coverage
in Delaware of the enactment of House Bill 114, “An Act to Amend Title 21 of the Delaware Code
Relating to Bodily Injury and Property Damage Coverage on Motor Vehicles,” signed into law by the
Governor on June 13, 2017 and effective on December 13, 2017 (six months after the date of enactment).

The Act amends 21 Del.C. § 2902 to raise the minimum bodily injury and property damage liability limits
in all automobile insurance policies newly written or renewed after the effective date of the Act, as
follows:

Type of Coverage Limit Prior to Enactment of HB 114  Limit after Enactment of HB 114

Bodily injury to or death of $15,000 $25,000
1 person in any 1 accident
and, subject to said limit for

1 person

Bodily injury to or death of $30,000 $50,000
2 or more persons in any 1

accident

Injury to or destruction of $5,000 $10,000
property of others in any 1

accident.

As stated in the Act’s synopsis, the purpose of the amendment is:

. . to better protect the motorists of the State of Delaware by raising the minimum
automobile bodily injury and property damage limits to reflect the current economic
conditions. The minimum automobile liability limits have not been raised in the State of
Delaware since July 19, 1983. Most motor vehicle policies sold in Delaware provide $10,000
for property damage coverage. Bodily injury insurance proceeds are frequently used to cover
the cost of not only pain and suffering, but an injured persons medical expenses and lost
wages, which have increased since 1983. For example, $15,000 in 1983 is equivalent to
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$35,960.54 in 2016, based on the federal Consumer Price Index Urban statistics for 1983 and
2016. In addition, $30,000 in 1983 is equivalent to $71,921.08 in 2016.

The purpose of the revisions to Bulletin 25 is to address the numerous inquiries that the Department has
received from members of the insurance industry since the passage of HB 114 and the initial publication
of this Bulletin regarding whether and how the HB 114 amendments to 21 Del.C. § 2902 impact the
minimum limits for all of the various types of insurance that are required to be offered pursuant to 21
Del.C. § 2118.

Explanation of how Sections 2118 and 2902 are related: The insurance coverage types and minimum
coverage requirements for all Delaware registered motor vehicles are set forth at 21 Del.C. § 2118.
Section 2118(a)(1) states that the minimum coverage limits for liability insurance are set forth in the
Financial Responsibility Law. The Financial Responsibility Law is promulgated at 21 Del.C. § 2902.
Since HB 114 only amended 21 Del.C. § 2902, only the coverage limits for liability insurance are
affected; no other coverage limits that are required under Section 2118 are affected.

Summary of coverage limits following the effective date of HB 114 (December 13, 2017): The following
minimum levels of insurance coverage are required to be offered by insurers writing automobile coverage
in this State:

e Liability Coverage as required by 21 Del.C. § 2118(a)(1): $25,000/$50,000/$10,000 (which
reflects the amounts prescribed by the Financial Responsibility Law at 21 Del.C. § 2902 as set
forth in the table above).

e Personal Injury Protection as required by 21 Del.C. § 2118(a)(2): $15,000 for any 1
person/$30,000 for all persons injured in any 1 accident.

e Compensation for damage to property (other than damage to the motor vehicle) as required by 21
Del.C. § 2118(2a)(3): $10,000 for any 1 accident.

e Compensation for damage to the insured motor vehicle as required by 21 Del.C. § 2118(a)(4): an
amount not to exceed the actual cash value of the vehicle at the time of loss and $10/day up to
$300 for loss of use of the vehicle.

e Uninsured/Underinsured motor vehicle coverage as required by 18 Del.C. § 3902:
$25,000/$50,000/$10,000 (which reflects the amounts prescribed by the Financial Responsibility
Law located at 21 Del.C. § 2902).

Questions concerning Auto Bulletin No. 25 should be emailed to consumer(@state.de.us.

This Bulletin shall be effective immediately and shall remain in effect unless withdrawn or
superseded by subsequent law, regulation or bulletin.
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