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I’d like to take a minute to introduce the people who help make my 
day-to-day job  a success. Every member of our Executive Staff is com-
mitted to Delaware consumers. Whether we are researching, review-
ing or drafting policy or interacting directly with the public, we are 
committed to providing answers and assistance  to all  Delawareans.  
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Conditional Licensing System 
A Success!

Delaware is the first state in the 
nation to allow electronic filing 
of a conditional license to captive 
insurance company applicants.  
HB 334, passed during Delaware’s 
149th General Assembly, authorizes 
Insurance Commissioner Trinidad 
Navarro to issue conditional certificates 
of authority (COA) to captive 
insurance companies on the 
same day as the application 
submission. 

Read more on page 2.
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While the State of Delaware does not require boat insurance, it is good to 
know the basics of such coverage. Most importantly, you should carefully 
consider the potential outcomes of not having an insurance policy for your 
boat. 
Many homeowner’s policies offer limited coverage. In many cases, the value 
of the boat cannot exceed $1,000-$2,000.  This coverage may be ideal for 
small, non-motorized boats, such as canoes or kayaks, but it is not sufficient 
for larger and/or motorized boats. Additionally, homeowner’s policies may 
only cover the boat if it is physically damaged on your property and not while 
the boat is in the water. 
Here are some key things to consider before taking your boat out on the 
water without insurance coverage.

Collision damage: 
•	 Will you need to repair or replace your boat in the event of a collision?  

You may also be responsible for clean-up of wreckage.
Property damage:  
•	 What if you cause damage to someone else’s boat, a dock, or other 
       property or structures?
Bodily injury: 
•	 If someone is injured while on your boat you could be responsible for 

medical bills, lost income, pain and suffering, and legal expenses.
Theft: 
•	 What if your boat was vandalized, stolen, or damaged in an incident 

other than a collision?

Boat insurance is important. Look for the right kind of policy at the right 
price for you. Getting quotes on several types of policies will allow you to 
make an informed decision based on the coverage you need.
If you have questions or concerns about insuring your boat or other property, 
call our Consumers Services Division at 302-674-7300 and visit our website 
at insurance.delaware.gov 

Do I really need boat insurance?

Conditional Licensing con’t.

Applications must include evidence 
of the minimum capital and surplus 
required by Chapter 69 of Title 18 of 
Delaware Code and a certification 
from the captive owner that the 
application materials comply 
with the requirements of Chapter 
69. Additionally, the Delaware 
Department of Insurance utilizes 
LexisNexis Know Your Customer.
The implementation of electronic 
conditional licensing allows speed 
to market for issuing a license, 
while at the same time maintaining 
regulatory integrity and safety. If an 
approved captive manager needs 
a captive insurance license by a 
certain date, they are encouraged 
to seek a conditional license. A 
captive insurance company is 
granted a Conditional Certificate 
of Authority for a fee of $3600. Of 
the 46 licenses issued, in Delaware, 
30 were conditional licenses. 
Delaware domiciled captive insurers 
generate more than $12.5 billion of 
annual captive insurance premium.
For more information about   Captives: 
CALL 302-577-3057

We are here to help!

Consumer 
Services
Division

Phone: (302) 674-7300
   insurance.delaware.gov



Protecting Insurance Coverage for Preexisting Conditions
coverage means companies must 
offer health insurance plans to any 
interested party regardless of their 
health. Permissible rating factors 
addresses how rates are calculated 
for particular plans and policies. 
The aim of Senate Bill 35 and all 
consumer protections is to prohibit 
insurance companies from denying 
coverage to those who need it the 
most and to stabilize the marketplace. 

 Delaware’s 150th General Assembly 
opened on January 8th of this year. 
The Department of Insurance has 
several bills in the works and is 
monitoring/supporting additional 
insurance related bills. One of our 
most important pieces of legislation 
is Senate Bill 35, an act that 
revises Delaware Insurance Code 
provisions to directly incorporate 
into state law the Patient Protection 
and Affordable Care Act’s core 
consumer protections. Recently, 
a Texas federal District Court 
ruled part of the Affordable Care 
Act unconstitutional. The Texas 
ruling was upheld on appeal and 
now millions of Americans may 
be adversely affected as the Trump 
administration moves to strike 
down the entire Affordable Care Act.
Senate Bill 35 is not a codification 
of the Affordable Care Act in its 
entirety, but a proactive effort to 
preserve the federal legislation’s 
most consumer friendly elements. 
The revisions proposed by SB 35 
directly incorporates into Delaware 
law the ACA’s prohibition of 
denying coverage to consumers 

because of preexisting conditions. 
Consumer protections such as 
guaranteed issue and availability 
and permissible rating factors would 
also be added to the Delaware code 
with the adoption of Senate Bill 35. 
Preexisting conditions are medical 
conditions that were treated in 
the past or are ongoing prior to 
enrollment under an insurance plan. 
Guaranteed issue and availability of 

Investigating allegations 
of fraud in all lines of 

insurance. 

REPORT 
FRAUD

DOI Fraud Prevention Bureau

FREE Health insurance counseling for people with Medicare in Delaware provided by the 
Delaware Medicare Assistance Bureau (DMAB).

Medicare Beneficiaries

Partnership between Delaware Insurance Commissioner, Trinidad Navarro, Delaware Medicare Assistance Bureau (DMAB) and the 
Hockessin Library.  DMAB is a free public service funded in part by a grant from the Administration for Community Living (ACL).

Hockessin Library Study Room
1023 Valley Rd.

Hockessin, DE 19707
Every Wednesday 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. by appointment only.

Call DMAB at 302-674-7364 to schedule an appointment

• Find out if you’re eligible for Medicare

• Get help comparing a Medicare prescription
    plan and/or a Medigap plan

• Get help understanding your Medicare 
    statements and bills

• Ask questions about how to save on 
    Medicare costs

DMAB provides counseling and assistance on questions and problems 
related to Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Long-term Care 

insurance and other types of health insurance.  

Phone: 302- 674-7364 | DOI Fax: 302- 739-6278 | Email: consumer@delaware.gov 

DMAB offices are located at 841 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904



Our office is here to help if 
you have questions about or 
problems with your insurance 
coverage or insurance company.

Questions about insurance or 
complaints about  an insurance 
company or insurance agent 
can be made to the Consumer 
Services Division by phone, by 
fax, by letter, by email or with an 

online complaint form.

The Consumer comes first.

Ask The Commissioner

Like other forms of insurance, travel insurance helps 
soften the impact of unexpected financial misfortunes 
surrounding your trip. Travel insurance coverage varies 
from policy to policy but common inclusions are trip 
cancellations or interruptions, travel delays or missed 
connections, and lost or damaged baggage. Travel 
insurance policies can purchased for a single-trip or for 
a particular window of time with the option to renew. 
Whether or not you “need” travel insurance is entirely 
up to you and there are some serious considerations to 
be made in making such a decision. To better answer this 
question, our next newsletter will feature an article that lays out some of the important 
considerations to assist you in deciding for yourself, whether or not trip insurance is for you.

Trinidad Navarro
Delaware Insurance Commissioner

Protecting Delawareans 
through regulation and 

education while providing 
oversight of the insurance 

industry to best serve 
the public.

Wilmington Office
The Nemours Building

1007 Orange St., 
Suite 1010

Wilmington, DE 19801

Georgetown Office
28 the Circle, Suite

Georgetown, DE 19947

Main Office
Rodney Building

841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904

Phone:  302- 674-7300

Fax: 302- 739-6278

 consumer@delaware.gov 

Our Mission

What is Travel Insurance and do I need it?


